Young Sherlock Student Book Review by Iwan

I now present the happiest book ever! : Young Sherlock: DEATH CLOUD!!!!!

The name of the book that I am writing about is Young Sherlock: Death Cloud and is written by the fabulous author Andrew Lane. This is a mini blog on why I think Young Sherlock is an amazing book series.

Young Sherlock Death Cloud is about Sherlock Holmes but he is just starting his adventures. In this book he is a boy who has a very ill mother and a father at war. He is then sent to live with his aunt and uncle for the summer but what he finds there is not what he expects. He meets a boy named Matty and they start to hang out but all his dreams are crushed when his brother (Mycroft) sets him a tutor named Amyus Crowe who has a daughter Virginia Crowe (who I think Sherlock has a crush on). They find a plot that involves a mysterious cloud of ……… and it leads them all over the place. The Ending might shock you….. or maybe not I don’t know.

I believe that this fantastic book is for any genders – as it has both genders with strong roles – and is for the ages 10 – 15 or even 16, although I think any age will enjoy it. Obviously it is from the series of Young Sherlock so I don’t have to go into much detail…… except that it’s one of the best genres of all time.

Three things that I liked about the book are:

The thrill and tension that it builds up.

The adventure that accompanies it and how the characters are brought to life.

If you’re an adventure-seeker and want to have the weight of tension on your shoulders then I think I have just found your heaven – Enjoy!

I think people should read it because it’s written brilliantly with a lot of vocab choices that just reel you in. Also it’s full of adventure and thrill which I think is perfect for a book. The way the book grabs hold of you and makes you part of the story is amazing as it feels like you are really there on their big adventures and amazing scenes.

Written by Iwan in Year 7

Leave a comment